History of ILTA

Leather Technologists' Association (India), was formed in the year 1950. Prof. Moni Banerjee joined as General Secretary under Presidentship of Prof. B. M. Das. This Association was renamed as 'Indian Leather Technologists' Association' and was incorporated in the year 1957 under the Companies Act. Fifty eight years back, ILTA made a small beginning to weave all segments of people sincerely devoted to the cause of Leather and allied Technology all over the country. The Association has members not only in all parts of the country representing every branch of leather and allied industries but also abroad. Through regional Centers, the Association strives to bring technologists all over the country close together and now has a large number of members in various categories. Among the galaxy of this discipline Padmashri Dr. Y. Nayudamma, Padmashri Mr. Nagappa Chettiar, Mr. V. P. Pandit, Mr. S. P. Pandit, Mr. Sanjay Sen, Dr. T. Ramasami were the past Presidents & Vice President, whose names are to be reckoned with great respect. This Association is presently headed by Mr. Arnab Jha as President.

ILTA is a national body of Leather Technologists who represents India in the IULTCS since 1956 and also a Member Society of IULTCS (International Union of Leather Technologists & Chemists Societies) which is a more than a century year’s old international organization. The International Congress of this union is held in different locations of the world once in two years. In its long history, for the first time the Congress was held in January 1999 outside the developed countries and that too in India at CLRI, Chennai. Indian Leather Technologists Association organized the Congress under the able leadership and guidance of Late Sanjoy Sen, the then President of ILTA and IULTCS and Dr. T. Ramasami, the then Vice-President of ILTA and Director, CLRI, Chennai. 2017 IULTCS Congress is scheduled to be held in India again.

In order to strengthen its activities, ILTA have constructed its own six storied building at 44, Shanti Pally, Kasba, Kolkata – 700107 and have named it “Sanjoy Bhavan”.

Image Gallery

About Us

Leather Technologists' Association (India), was formed in the year 1950.Prof. Moni Banerjee joined as General Secretary under Presidentship of Prof. B. M. Das.

Contact Us

Indian Leather Technologists' Association
Official Website: www.iltaonleather.org

Address:SANJOY BHAVAN, 3rd Floor,  44, Shanti Pally, Kasba Kolkata - 700 107
Telephone:033 – 24413429 / 24413459
FAX:033 – 24417320
E-mail: admin@iltaonleather.org / mailtoilta@rediffmail.com